New Year…Now What?

Hiya guys! Hope your year is starting out well. Can you believe it’s 2017? Most people simply seem to be glad 2016 is over, but it wasn’t bad for me. So really, this year will be a regular year, no special “we made it” feeling.

I’ve spent the past week pondering this year, and last. It’s a ritual I do each time a new year begins – I analyze where I’m at now, versus where I was the previous year, five years, ten years, etc. It helps me grow, and figure out where I’m going from here.

Each year, it seems as though I get further from achieving goals I set, and yet, I set more goals. It’s all part of the process of life, I suppose, but it’s sometimes frustrating this time of year, with so many people talking about goal setting and resolutions.

This year, though, I’m going to do something different. I’m not going to make a resolution list, because really, I never stick to them. I want to, but it never happens. Best laid plans, and all that.

What I will do, though, is admit to some goals I am going to put more effort into making happen, while also admitting they may not, and that’s alright.

So, this is my “I’m working on it” list for 2017, as it pertains to the book world, and this blog.

1) I miss reading. I want to read more. In years when my reading game is strong, I’ve read in excess of 500 books. When it’s a poor reading year, I’m lucky to read one. Since I have no idea of whether this year will allow much spare time for reading, I’m going to set what seems to be a realistic idea for a goal. One book a week, with an overall hope of reading 50 books this year. Fingers crossed!

2) Picking up my YouTube channel for this blog. I need to get back into it, and keep it going.

3) Get back into blogging more, and get better at it. I’ve already committed to my review blog again, and decided to stick with it. That being decided, I need to work on some things to make it pop. Going to be working on that.

4) Connect with more readers. I used to have a good set of bookish friends. Granted, Shelfari going down early last year is a major part of those connections dwindling, but still. Not a good enough reason. I want to make more connections again, and be more active in the book community in general.

Four areas to work on, and each seems realistic. We’ll see how it goes!

What are some of the goals you have for this year? Are you setting any resolutions? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! =D

roze-signature-blog

2 thoughts on “New Year…Now What?

I love to hear what other people think! Please leave your thoughts below. Thanks! =D

